RSS Feed

London Fashion Week: HEMYCA AW12

Posted on

A little fashion fairytale

Every now and again something magical happens that reminds me why London is the greatest fashion town in the world. During September Fashion Week last year I was wondering along Pall Mall on my way to the Wool Modern exhibition, when from out of nowhere a man came charging across the road and asked me if I wanted to go to a fashion show. I wasn’t actually wearing my pin that says “I’m a fashion blogger, ask me how”, but possibly the big blue hat I was wearing gave the game away. I found myself, white wine in hand, in a small attic-esque display space in La Gallaria watching “Fragments of Illusion”, the AW presentation of west London-based brand HEMYCA.  Which turned out to be a stunning collection that I was totally unable to photograph because I forgot my camera memory card. Fail!

This time I adopted a more formal approach, and got in touch with their press office for an invite. And I’m very glad I did, as this particular off-schedule collection, entitled “A World of Glass”, was something pretty special. The devil was in the details: art deco designs in laser cut leather overlaid onto soft brocade fabrics, double collars in contrasting weight fabrics and subtle metallic embellishments. Double peplums in stiff fabrics, straps and buckles, and feathered epaulettes added an almost military feel to some of the garments. According to designer Myra (half of the design duo at the heart of the brand) the designs are like armour, moulding to and protecting the body. I am not surprised that HEMYCA was named “the brightest and most directional fashion brand in the UK” at the 2011 Fashion Press Week Awards.

And no LFW post would be complete without a little blogger love! Despite having been at the same two events recently, I had never actually met the lovely Monica Beatrice of The Elgin Avenue until now. We had a good old chit chat, and got very excited about the top secret Tom Ford presentation that was going on in the next room! Incidentally, important fashion person spot of the day (and probably the year): Anna Wintour and Franca Sozzani being admitted into the hallowed inner sanctum of Tom Ford. I wish I’d had my wits about me and taken a photo.

As usual there are more pictures of the event on Facebook. Enjoy! x

2 responses »

  1. These clothes look divine, I can totally see a modern Joan of Arc wearing them! Gorgeous colours and detailing!

    Maria xxx

    Reply
  2. The presentation looks amazing. Love the turquoise colours!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

